Thomas Harvey, 1906 – 1984

My father -given the nickname Togger during his time in the Auxiliary Fire Service during WW2, a name that stuck with him for the rest of his life – was born in 1906 and died on June 17th, 1984.

SETTING SAIL
Wind troubles the water,
tangles and untangles the reeds;

a lone swan slides past, unperturbed.

I came here with my father 

to sail the yacht he’d crafted
lovingly all summer;

a gift on my winter birthday.

The wind carried it proudly 

to the centre and left it there, 

marooned.

I used to see him, my father,

each time I looked in the mirror –

loving, reproachful, regret in his eyes.

Now all I see is my own face

staring back at me;

uncertain, anxious -

waiting for the right wind.

Poem fron On Balance, Shoestring Press, 2083

Author: John Harvey

Writer.

2 thoughts on “Thomas Harvey, 1906 – 1984”

  1. So poignant, so simple. So much feeling in that one line, that he’d spent all summer lovingly crafting the yacht for you… Thank you for posting that beautiful poem!

Leave a comment

Some Days You Do ...

Writers & writing: books, movies, art & music - the bits & pieces of a (retiring) writer's life

McMinn and Cheese

For a long time I used to get up early

thebluemoment.com

A blog about music by Richard Williams

Woody Haut's Blog

Writers & writing: books, movies, art & music - the bits & pieces of a (retiring) writer's life