On Reading … & Walking …

Ever since I learned to read, I’ve had a book on the go – one after another – an unbroken chain from Winnie-the-Poo to Salman Rushdie. There are so many left behind here in my grandmother’s bungalow; publication dates to span her entire life. Every evening after I’ve eaten, I make myself open one and read, for a while, and then lay the book down spine up on the sofa cushions at the page where I stopped.
The trick to keeping going is break going into bursts: to stop, and otherwise occupy my brain for a spell, and then start going again. Nowadays I apply this to my whole day long. Each is a succession of shallow occupations, enforced intervals. Even my sleep is only ankle deep, interrupted.
Sarah Baume : A Line Made by Walking, William Heinemann 2017

9780544716957_p0_v4_s192x300

Richard Long : A Line Made By Walking, 1967

linewalking

 

2 thoughts on “On Reading … & Walking …

  1. Yes, it’s a book I’d recommend; I read it in a day and found it quietly compulsive.Not a million miles from ‘Pond’, one my favourite books in the last year.

Leave a Reply

