My Favourite 112 Tracks

Lilly Allen 22
Eric Andersen Blue River
Joan Baez Diamonds & Rust
The Band The Weight
Courtney Barnett Depreston
Colin Blunstone I Don’t Believe in Miracles
Billy Bragg Levi Stubbs’ Tears
Jackson Browne Here Come Those Tears Again
Jummy Buffett Come Monday
Glen Campbell Wichita Lineman
Kate Campbell Crazy in Alabama
Mary Chapin Carpeter Other Streets & Other Towns
Rosanne Cash Seven Yeat Ache
Tracey Chapman Fast Car
Guy Clark L. A. Freeway
Instant Coffee Blues
Leonard Cohen Chelsea Hotel No. 2
Treaty
Elvis Costello Alison
Everyday I Write the Book
The Delines Colfax Ave.
The Oil Rigs at Night
Bob Dylan Love Minus Zero/No Limit
Someone’s Got a Hold of My Heart

Workingman’s Blues #2
Rambin’ Jack Elliott Don’t Think Twice …
Everything But the Girl Straight Back To You
Aretha Franklin I Say a Little Prayer
Al Green Belle
Nanci Griffith Cold Hearts/Closed Minds
Arlo Guthrie Last to Leave
Merle Haggard Working Man Blues
Emmylou Harris Boulder to Birmingham
Richie Havens I’m Not in Love
Joe Henry Our Song
Ty Hendren What Mattered Most
Tish Hisojosa Who Showed You the Way to My Heart
Janis Ian In the Winter
Elton John Rocket Man
Your Song
Cowboy Junkies A Horse in the Country
Lucy Kaplansky Someday Soon
Carole King So Far Away
The Kinks Waterloo Sunset
Kris Kristofferson Me & Bobby McGhee
Lyle Lovett This Old Porch
Kate Mackenzie Waitin’ Out the Storm
Dave Mallett It Wasn’t Supposed to Be Like This
Aimee Mann Mr Harris
Laura Marling New Romantic
Tim McGraw Angry All the Time
Jonie Mitchell Blue
Keb Mo Rock Me on the Water
Bill Morrissey Inside
Willie Nelson Me & Paul
Beth Orton Central Reservation
Gram Parsons Return of the Grievous Angel
Gretchen Peters When All You Got is a Hammer
Wichita
Rod Picott Angels & Acrobats
Elvis Presley Kentucky Rain
John Prine Blue Umbrella
Pulp Something Changed
Bonnie Raitt Nick of Time
Not Cause I Wanted To
Eddie Reader Dear John
Lou Reed Perfect Day
Otis Redding My Girl
John Renbourne Lord Franklin
Kimmie Rhodes West Texas Heaven
Man Who Went Walking in Paris
Charlie Rich The Most Beautiful Girl in the World
Amy Rigby Don’t Ever Change
Josh Ritter Naked as a Window
Tom Robinson You Tattooed Me
Linda Rondstadt Do What You Gotta Do
Rumer Aretha
We Will
Tom Russell St. Olav’s Gate
Boz Scaggs Lost It
Sierra
Liz Simcock You Are With Me Still
Strand of Silver
Paul Simon Kodachrome
Still Crazy After All These Years
Nina Simone My Baby Just Cares for Me
Dusty Springfield Sandra
In Private
What Have I Done to Deserve This (with Pet Shop Boys)
Bruce Springsteen One Step Up
John Stewart Cannons in the Rain
Sister Mercy
Rod Stewart I Don’t Want to Talk About It
James Taylor Something in the Way She Moves
Taylor Swift Fifteen
Richard Thompson When the Spell is Broken
Tracey Thorn Guitar
Ian Tyson Lights of Laramie
Trisha Yearwood Bus to St. Cloud
Townes Van Zandt Pancho & Lefty
The Verve The Drugs Don’t Work
Jerry Jeff Walker I Feel Like Hank Williams Tonight
Navajo Rug
Jennifer Warnes Famous Blue Raincoat
Dar Williams The Hudson
Paul Williams Waking Up Alone
Robert Wyatt Shipbuilding
Neil Young From Hank to Hendrix
Unknown Legend
Till the Morning Comes

Author: John Harvey

Writer.

6 thoughts on “My Favourite 112 Tracks”

  1. A huge list of lovely music, but where are Lennon/McCartney???

  2. Well, as I should have made clear it’s a list one what I’ve been actually listening to with pleasure over the last few years, rather than an attempt to list the ‘best written/best performed’ songs in my collection. And I’ve listened to the Beatles (and the Stones) very little of late.

  3. John – A wonderfully diverse list. Only a few of which I know, even when I know other things by the same performer, so I’m going to take this as suggestions for future listening.

    My steel-guitar-playing older brother’s main band, Evening Sky, did an interesting instrumental interpretation of Wichita Lineman. You might like a listen, it’s one of the videos shown on their web site (it doesn’t look like they’ve got it on any of their CDs): https://www.eveningskyband.com/. Here they are with something in their more rockin’ jazzy mode: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDe7hxsgOu8 (another version with studio sound quality is on their “The Desert At Night” album, which you can scroll down and find on the wib site). The Parlour, by the way, is about three blocks down the hill from where my brother lives; a great little venue of the sort that are far too scarce these days and that’s had to be held together by community contributions and support.

    Kate Wolf would definitely have some tracks on my personal favorite’s list. Here’s one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsXGzblg7Ws. She died way, way too soon.

    I’m glad Liz made it on to yours!

    Alan

    >

  4. Alan … Thanks for the links to Evening Sky (listened to and enjoyed in a break from unpacking) and Kate Woolf, whose work I knew a little -someone, probably you, recommended her in the past.

    Funnily enough, Sarah and I went to hear Liz Simcock last night at a small club in Camden; she was in good voice, relaxed and enjoyed the presence of an enthusiastic audience.

Leave a comment

Some Days You Do ...

Writers & writing: books, movies, art & music - the bits & pieces of a (retiring) writer's life

McMinn and Cheese

For a long time I used to get up early

thebluemoment.com

A blog about music by Richard Williams

Woody Haut's Blog

Writers & writing: books, movies, art & music - the bits & pieces of a (retiring) writer's life